Nov. 29, 2016

Winship celebrates School of Medicine recognition week

Photo of Winship celebrates School of Medicine recognition week

The week of November 28, 2016 has been declared Faculty Recognitions Week in the Emory University School of Medicine. Throughout the week faculty will be recognized for their accomplishments and excellence in patient care, research and education.

Shown below are Winship members included in the School of Medicine's list of recognitions.

Senior academic promotions


Associate Professors:

Regional, national, and international awards
This is just a sampling of the honors and awards that our faculty members have received over the past year.

  • N. Volkan Adsay, MD (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
    Elected President, US-Canadian Academy of Pathology
  • Lisa Flowers, MD (Gynecology & Obstetrics)
    Member, Board of Directors, American Society of Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology
  • Wayne B. Harris, MD (Hematology & Medical Oncology)
    Member, Loma Linda University Health Board of Trustees
  • R. Donald Harvey, PharmD (Hematology & Medical Oncology)
    Fellow, Hematology Oncology Pharmacy Association
  • G. Baker Hubbard III, MD (Ophthalmology)
    Senior Achievement Award, American Academy of Ophthalmology
  • Hui Mao, PhD (Radiology & Imaging Sciences)
    Chair, NIH Molecular Imaging and Probe Development Study Section
  • Jane Meisel, MD (Hematology & Medical Oncology)
    Member, Development Therapeutics Committee, NRG Oncology and Member, Cancer Education Committee, American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • Kenneth Ogan, MD (Urology)
    Appointed President, Georgia Urological Association
  • Taofeek Owonikoko, MD, PhD (Hematology & Medical Oncology)
    Appointed Co-Chair, Head and Neck Working Group for the Radiation Research Program (RRP) in the NCI/CTEP Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis (DCTD); Member, American Society Clinical Oncology Program Committee; 2016 NCI Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award, National Cancer Institute
  • Nabil Saba, MD (Hematology & Medical Oncology)
    Member, Head & Neck Cancer Core Committee, NRG Oncology and Co-Chair, Rare Tumor Taskforce, National Cancer Institute

MilliPub Club Inductees
The MilliPub Club honors and recognizes current Emory faculty who have published one or more individual papers throughout their careers that have each garnered more than 1000 citations. Such a paper is commonly considered a “citation classic” and represents high impact scholarship.

Emory 1% Award
The Emory 1% Award honors and recognizes investigators who have received study section review scores in the top one percentile on a grant proposal.

  • Christopher Flowers, MD (Hematology & Medical Oncology)
  • Periasamy Selvaraj, PhD (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)

Excellence in Patient Satisfaction
The below faculty members are being recognized for their high levels of patient satisfaction scores on Press Ganey satisfaction surveys.

The Emory Clinic:
These faculty members finished above their division goal and in the top 90th percentile for their specialties nationwide on Press Ganey patient satisfaction surveys for Q1 & Q2 as well as Q3 & Q4.

  • Adriana Ioachimescu, MD (Neurosurgery)

Grady Memorial Hospital:
These Departments are recognized for achieving their Press Ganey patient satisfaction survey goal set by Grady Health System for CYTD 2016 (Q1-Q3). The Chief or Director for the department is noted below.

Atlanta VA Medical Center:
These Emory VA providers achieved scores in the 90th percentile or higher on Press Ganey patient satisfaction surveys for the fourth quarter of 2016.

Emory Medicine Mentoring Award
This award recognizes faculty who have demonstrated outstanding mentoring in the domains of education, service, and/or research to trainees or early career faculty during the past year.

  • Christopher Flowers, MD (hematology & Medical Oncology)

For a comprehensive list of all Emory University School of Medicine recognized during Recognition Week, visit


Cascade Link  TOP