Feb. 19, 2018

Winship holds scientific symposium

Photo of Winship holds scientific symposium

From left to right: Walter J. Curran, Jr., MD, Krishnendu Roy, PhD, Adam Marcus, PhD, and Suresh Ramalingam, MD.

Co-chaired by Drs. Suresh Ramalingam, Kimberly Kerstann, and Adam Marcus, the Winship Scientific Symposium on February 16 highlighted outstanding cancer research from Winship faculty, staff, trainees, and students. Speakers included:

  1. Walter J. Curran, Jr., MD
  2. Wilbur Lam, MD, PhD
  3. Krishnendu Roy, PhD (Keynote)
  4. Erwin Van Meir, PhD
  5. Melissa Gilbert-Ross, PhD
  6. Paula Vertino, PhD
  7. Christopher Porter, MD
  8. Benjamin Barwick, PhD, MS
  9. Haian Fu, PhD
  10. Taofeek Owonikoko, MD, PhD
  11. Carla Berg, PhD, MBA, LP
  12. Lauren McCullough, PhD, MSPH
  13. Kimberly Kerstann, PhD
  14. Renee Read, PhD
  15. Adam Marcus, PhD
  16. Madhu Behera, PhD
  17. Michelle Kegler, DSc, MPH
  18. Ashesh B. Jani, MD, MSEE
  19. Douglas Graham, MD, PhD
  20. Vikas P. Sukhatme, MD, ScD
  21. Suresh Ramalingam, MD

An opening night reception and poster session was held February 15 in Emory's Miller-Ward Alumni House. Congratulations to all the poster session participants, including the top-scoring poster presenters who were selected to receive awards and cash prizes.


1st Prize: Emily Summerbell – "Leader cells are defined by DNA hypermethylation and aberrant gene expression during collective lung cancer invasion"

2nd Prize: Priya Kapoor, PhD – "The histone methyltransferase Suv420h2 prevents the epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition (EMT) by restraining the mesenchymal program in luminal breast cancer cells"


1st Prize: Brian Olson, PhD – "Prostate Cancers Harbor Mutually Exclusive Genomic Drivers That Are Enriched Within Non-T cell Inflamed Tumors”

2nd Prize: James Ross – "The Role of Tumor Associated Macrophages in Pediatric High Grade Glioma"


1st Prize: Mohammad Zaidi, MD, MS – "Defining the Number of Lymph Nodes Needed to Accurately Stage Small Bowel Neuroendocrine Tumors: An 8-Institution Study from the US Neuroendocrine Tumor Study Group"

2nd Prize: Bing Ji, PhD – "Feature decomposition based examining tumor heterogeneity on dynamic susceptibility contrast enhanced MRI data”

Public Health

1st Prize: Doratha Byrd, MPH – "Associations of whole food and lifestyle-based inflammation scores with incident, sporadic colorectal adenoma"

2nd Prize : Andrew Ritter – "Overall Survival Disparities in Metro/Urban/Rural Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma Patients"

For more info, contact:

Cascade Link  TOP