Nov. 20, 2020

Winship honors leaders with endowed chairs and professorships

Photo of Winship honors leaders with endowed chairs and professorships

From left to right: Lawrence H. Boise, PhD, Kenneth Cardona, MD, FACS, Amelia Langston, MD and Adam Marcus, PhD.

Four faculty members have been honored with an endowed chair or an endowed professorship in recognition and support of their outstanding research and clinical contributions to Winship.

Lawrence H. Boise, PhD has been named as the R. Randall Rollins Chair in Oncology, an endowed chair created with a generous gift from the O. Wayne Rollins Foundation in 2010. Boise, who joined the Emory faculty in 2009, is professor and vice chair for basic research in the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology. His laboratory studies disease biology and develops novel approaches to treat multiple myeloma and other B cell malignancies. As Winship’s associate director for education and training, he leads and coordinates cancer-focused educational opportunities across the spectrum of learners.

Kenneth Cardona, MD, FACS has been named the inaugural Patricia R. Reynolds Professor in Sarcoma. Cardona, who joined the Emory faculty in 2012, is an associate professor in the Division of Surgical Oncology of the Department of Surgery and is the associate chief of surgery of Emory University Hospital Midtown. His clinical and research efforts focus on the management of patients with soft tissue sarcomas – a group of rare cancers that develop in the connective tissues – with a specific interest in the treatment of retroperitoneal sarcomas. He is actively involved in national and international sarcoma working groups and leads various sarcoma clinical trial efforts as the chair of the Sarcoma Committee for the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group and as principal investigator of the US Sarcoma Collaborative.

Amelia Langston, MD and Adam Marcus, PhD have been named as the recipients of Winship 5K Research Professorships. The two endowed professorships are funded through proceeds from the Winship Win the Fight 5K Run/Walk.

Langston, who joined Emory in 1998, is a professor and executive vice chair in the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology and medical director of the Bone Marrow Transplant and Stem Cell Transplant Center. She specializes in hematopoietic stem cell transplantation and management of patients with hematologic malignancies. She also serves as medical director of the Winship Cancer Network, which facilitates Winship’s collaborations with community health care organizations in the region.

Marcus, professor in the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology, joined the Emory faculty in 2006. He serves as Winship's associate director for basic research and shared resources, and scientific director of the Integrated Cellular Imaging Shared Resource, which provides state-of-the-art technology and expertise for investigators. His laboratory studies how cancers metastasize with the goal of developing treatments that target cancer metastasis. Marcus co-leads Citizen Science HD, a STEM outreach program funded by an R25 Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) from the National Institutes of Health.

"We are thrilled to celebrate Larry, Ken, Amy, and Adam with endowed honors that will support their continued impact in cancer research and clinical care," says Walter J. Curran, Jr., MD, executive director of Winship. "Winship is grateful to the Reynolds family, the O. Wayne Rollins Foundation, and our Winship 5K donors, whose generosity makes it possible to recognize these extraordinary faculty members in such a meaningful way."

Cascade Link  TOP