Shuming Nie, PhD

Titles and Roles

Wallace H. Coulter Distinguished Chair Professor in Biomedical Engineering
Emory University and the Georgia Institute of Technology
Research Program
Discovery and Developmental Therapeutics


Dr. Shuming Nie is the Wallace H. Coulter Distinguished Chair Professor in Biomedical Engineering at Emory University and the Georgia Institute of Technology, with joint appointments in chemistry, materials science and engineering, and hematology and oncology. He is the Principal Investigator and Director of the Emory-Georgia Tech Nanotechnology Center for Personalized and Predictive Oncology, one of the eight national centers funded by the National Cancer Institute (NIH/NCI).


Dr. Nie received his BS degree from Nankai University (China) in 1983, earned his MS and PhD degrees from Northwestern University under the direction of Professor Richard P. Van Duyne (1984-1990), and did postdoctoral research at both Georgia Institute of Technology and Stanford University (1990-1994).


Professor Nie has received many awards and honors including:

  • Merck Award, 2007
  • Elected Fellow of the American Institute of Biological and Medical Engineering, 2006
  • Cheung Kong Professorship, The Ministry of Education of China, 2006
  • Rank Prize in Opto-electronics, London, UK, 2005
  • Georgia Distinguished Cancer Scholar Award (Georgia Cancer Coalition, 2002-2007
  • Beckman Young Investigator Award, the National Collegiate Inventors Award
  • NSFC Overseas Young Scholar Award


His research interest is broadly in bimolecular engineering and nanotechnology, with a focus on bioconjugated nanoparticles for cancer molecular imaging, molecular profiling, pharmacogenomics, and targeted therapy.


During the last 10 years, Dr. Nie has published nearly 100 scholarly papers, filed 20 patents/inventions, and has delivered more than 350 invited talks and keynote lectures. He serves on the scientific advisory/editorial boards of 5 biotech companies and 6 scientific journals.

Additional Websites

Cascade Link